Alternative Press Music Awards

Korn To Receive ‘Vanguard Award’ At 2017 ‘Alternative Press Music Awards’, New Performers Announced


Recipients of some of the top awards at this year’s ‘Alternative Press Music Awards‘ (aka ‘The Journeys Alternative Press Music Awards, Fueled By Monster Energy‘) have been announced in advance. Korn will take home the ‘Vanguard Award’, which is: “bestowed to an artist or group who have contributed groundbreaking works to a music culture. Over time, the recipient has challenged themselves and influenced those around them to re-invent music in the pursuit of the unexplored. Their efforts shatter the status quo and define the foundation for trends within a number of music genres.”

Slipknot/Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor will present the band with the award at the ceremony, he said of that:

“Years ago, I was inspired by this crazy band from California. Years later, they became my friends and allies. Now it’s my great pleasure to help honor them for what they’ve done and have given to the world. It’s going to be a great night.”

Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! will receive the ‘Icon Award’, while musician/producer John Feldmann will be awarded the ‘Influencer Award’. New performers have also been announced for the awards ceremony, which will now include a ‘Punk Goes Pop !‘ set featuring live performances from band’s featured on the upcoming “Punk Goes Pop Vol. 7” compilation. Plain White T’s, Nothing More and Halestorm‘s Lzzy Hale have also been added to the bill.

Other confirmed live appearances for the ceremony include:

All Time Low
Against Me!
Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness
Bone Thugs
Machine Gun Kelly
New Years Day
One Ok Rock
Pierce The Veil
The Pretty Reckless
Sleeping With Sirens

Drummers Adrian Young (No Doubt/Dreamcar) and Frank Zummo (Sum 41, etc.) will also face-off, while a special guest performance is also being teased. Nominees up for this year’s fan-voted awards can be found here. This year’s awards ceremony will be held at the Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, OH on July 17th.