CKYJimmy Hubbard

CKY Release “Days Of Self Destruction” Video, Detail New Album “The Phoenix”


CKY have now launched a video for their new single “Days Of Self Destruction“. The track features a guest spot from Mastodon vocalist/guitarist Brent Hinds and comes from CKY‘s new album, “The Phoenix“. eOne Music have now officially confirmed a June 16th release date for that effort with pre-orders up here and the cover art and track listing available below.

Recording sessions for the effort took place at Rancho De La Luna in Joshua Tree, CA. Speaking of the track, frontman/guitarist Chad I Ginsburg revealed that the song and album were heavily influenced by the frequent instability the group experienced in their previous incarnations:

“It’s where things could have ended up. I definitely was writing a lot of this record from that place. Like a phoenix, it burns itself alive and is reborn from its own ashes. ‘Days Of Self Destruction‘ is basically about the dangers of not learning from your mistakes.”

He further said of the past volatility of the band’s lineup being behind them:

“We’re older and smarter now. Any of the bad mojo in this band is gone, as well as any of the bad habits we’d developed over the years. We all got lost in a bit too much drinking and all types of things, but that’s out of the way now. We got a chance to grow up and we’re happier people. Now, we’re so clear—the music is just flowing directly through us without having to sort through all that bullshit.”

Interestingly, Ginsburg also sees the album as a continuation of some of their earlier output, in particular citing 2002’s “Infiltrate•Destroy•Rebuild” as a reference: “I would put it right after IDR and ignore the other two records, honestly.”

CKY - The Phoenix

01 – “Replaceable
02 – “Days Of Self Destruction
03 – “Unknown Enemy
04 – “Head For A Breakdown
05 – “The Other Ones
06 – “Wiping Off The Dead
07 – “Lies From You
08 – “Better Than Get Even

The band will be touring this spring/summer on the ‘Vans Warped Tour‘ as well as this Canadian tour and this impending UK run.


- Advertisement - Purchase Merch