Mastodon - "Emperor Of Sand"

Details Leak Out For Mastodon’s New Album “Emperor Of Sand”


The details for Mastodon‘s new album have leaked out via an Australian iTunes listing. According to that listing, the effort has been titled “Emperor Of Sand” and will be released on March 31st through Reprise Records. The track listing for the effort runs as follows:

Mastodon - Emperor Of Sand

- Advertisement -

01 – “Sultan’s Curse
02 – “Show Yourself
03 – “Precious Stones
04 – “Steambreather
05 – “Roots Remain
06 – “Word To The Wise
07 – “Ancient Kingdom
08 – “Clandestiny
09 – “Andromeda
10 – “Scorpion Breath
11 – “Jaguar God

A digital single for the track “Sultan’s Curse” which the band previewed previewed last night is currently available on iTunes in Australia. Given that Australia operates a day ahead of North America, it’s likely that the single will be available stateside tomorrow, January 27th. Drummer/vocalist Brann Dailor previously said the concept centers around a protagonist who is: “handed a death sentence from a desert ruler, and then wanders an arid wasteland – a metaphor for illness and doom.” At it’s core however, the concept is a commentary on cancer.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch