Giraffe Tongue OrchestraJohnny Buzzerio

Giraffe Tongue Orchestra (Alice In Chains, Etc.) Detail Debut Album, Reveal Origin Of Band Name


Yesterday saw the long-awaited debut of the first music to be released to the public from Giraffe Tongue Orchestra—a supergroup featuring a core of Alice In Chains vocalist/guitarist William DuVall, Mastodon vocalist/guitarist Brent Hinds, The Dillinger Escape Plan guitarist Ben Weinman, ex-The Mars Volta drummer Thomas Pridgen and Dethklok, etc. bassist Pete Griffin. With the new song, “Crucifixion“, now available (see below) and word of the band’s debut album “Broken Lines” being headed for a September 23rd release date, more info has come out.

You can now watch behind the scenes footage of the group recording the effort over at, where you can also pre-order the album. You can also pre-order it via Amazon and iTunes. Brent Hinds also revealed the origin of the band’s name (via and you have a giraffe in Australia to thank for it:

“During the time Mastodon was there for ‘Soundwave‘, I was at the zoo in Sydney, Australia and was checking out the giraffes. They’re are amazing animals – one just grabbed a bunch of bananas from my hand with its tongue and peeled them with it as well – by the time the bananas got to its mouth, they were ready to be eaten. I saw Ben and said ‘Man I think I found the name for our band.'”

Giraffe Tongue Orchestra - Broken Lines

01 – “Adapt Or Die
02 – “Crucificion
03 – “No-One Is Innocent
04 – “Blood Moon
05 – “Fragments & Ashes
06 – “Back To The Light
07 – “All We Have Is Now
08 – “Everyone Gets Everything They Really Want
09 – “Thieves And Whores
10 – “Broken Lines

Actress/musician Juliette Lewis will contribute backing vocals on the album, while Queens Of The Stone Age drummer Jon Theodore will guest on two unspecified tracks.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch