Eyehategod (And Philip H. Anselmo) Speak Of New Self-Titled Album


More details have been revealed for Eyehategod‘s new self-titled album which is primed for a May 27th release date on Housecore Records. Initial sessions for the outing began with producer Billy Anderson (Sleep, Cattle Decapitation), however the band and producer weren’t in agreement on various aspects.

Future sessions then took place at Philip H. Anselmo‘s own Nodferatu’s Lair with Stephen Berrigan (Down) taking on the production duties. Band frontman Mike IX Williams said of the effort:

- Advertisement -

“I have to say I don’t believe we’ve lost nary a step in the creation of this album and we think these newer songs are a killer combination of classic Eyehategod mixed along with our best production, mixing, engineering and songwriting in thirteen years. The main and total tragic break in the chain, was obviously last year’s death of our great friend and drummer,Joey LaCaze. However, his original drum tracks made it onto the final master recordings and we’re fucking psyched about that… As for working with Housecore, it was a no-brainer. We’ve always been a family, and will always remain a family.”

Anselmo also commented of the outing, which will be released on his own Housecore Records label:

“Being a part of the new EHG record is a dream come true. I’ve known, supported and loved the guys for almost as long as I’ve been playing music myself, and it is our pleasure here at The Housecore Records Compound to have ’em aboard. And I gotta mention, having heard the new record, this is the Eyehategod record every true fan has been waiting for…. Hail!”

Aaron Hill will continue on with the band as LaCaze‘s replacement. The group also have a one-off April 27th show lined up at the Ottobar in Baltimore, MD. High On Fire, Corrosion Of Conformity, Magrudergrind, Strong Intention and Ilsa will also be on the bill. If you missed it prior, a lyric video for the bands new track “Agitation! Propaganda!” is available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch