Ihsahn Details New Album “Das Seelenbrechen”


Candlelight Records have confirmed some details for Ihsahn‘s coming new album “Das Seelenbrechen“. The affair is due in stores October 22nd and will feature the below ten songs. Ihsahn himself said of what to expect:

“Musically, this album is a very deliberate sidestep to what I have been doing; a necessity to reset the creative parameters so not to fall into formula. I think I do my best work slightly outside of my comfort zone and I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time. Free form and improvisational can be scary for a musician but it is very liberating at the same time.”

- Advertisement -

He continued:

“Even though my music has changed over the years, I feel there is a source of inspiration at the bottom of it all that is constant. The general idea for this album was to try and dig deep into this raw source and express it without too much refinery and do so within a less familiar musical landscape.

It is the reason for several purely improvised songs and parts on this album. I spontaneously performed with just lyrics and the idea of the atmosphere I was wishing to create. While many will feel it sounds different, I don’t think it is necessarily different from my previous album. And in my head, it will fit in perfectly with my plans for the sixth album.”

01- “Hilber
02- “Regen
03- “NaCl
04- “Pulse
05- “Tacit 2
06- “Tacit
07- “Rec
08- “M
09- “Sub Alter
10- “See
11- “Entropie” (bonus)
12- “Hel” (bonus)