Mark Lanegan To Release Covers Album “Imitations” In September


Mark Lanegan of Screaming Trees/Queens Of The Stone Age, etc. fame will be releasing his new covers album “Imitations” through Vagrant Records on September 17th. Lanegan said of the effort:

“When I was a kid in the late sixties and early seventies, my parents and their friends would play the records of Andy Williams, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra and Perry Como, music with string arrangements and men singing songs that sounded sad whether they were or not.

- Advertisement -

At home my folks were also listening to country music, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, George Jones and Vern Gosdin were some of our favorites. For a long time I’ve wanted to make a record that gave me the same feeling those old records did, using some of the same tunes I loved as a kid and some that I’ve loved as I have gotten older. This record is it. Imitations.”

Below you can find a stream of Lanegan‘s take on John Cale‘s “I’m Not The Loving Kind“. Meanwhile, the following track listing was provided for the album, though it was not explicitly specified who the original artists being covered are:

01 – “Flatlands
02 – “She’s Gone
03 – “Deepest Shade
04 – “You Only Live Twice
05 – “Pretty Colors
06 – “Brompton Oratory
07 – “Solitaire
08 – “Mack The Knife
09 – “I’m Not The Loving Kind
10 – “Lonely Street
11 – “Elégie Funèbre
12 – “Autumn Leaves

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch