Wayne Kramer Of MC5Jim Newberry

MC5’s New Album “Heavy Lifting” To Feature Guns N’ Roses, Rage Against The Machine, Alice In Chains, Etc. Members


A new MC5 album titled “Heavy Lifting” will be arriving on October 18th through earMUSIC. This first studio album from the group in 53 years arrives following the deaths of vocalist/guitarist Wayne Kramer this past February, and drummer Dennis “Machine Gun” Thompson in May, both of whom appear on this record.

Kramer spearheaded this effort from proto-punk outfit, tracking it with producer Bob Ezrin (KISS, Lou Reed) . To pull it off, the following veritable army of guest musicians, was enlisted:

  • Slash (Guns N’ Roses)
  • Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine)
  • William DuVall (Alice In Chains)
  • Vernon Reid (Living Colour)
  • Don Was (ex-MC5)
  • Tim McIlrath (Rise Against)
  • Vickie Randle (Aretha Franklin)
  • Stevie Salas (Rod Stewart, etc.)
  • Abe Laboriel Jr. (Paul McCartney)
  • Winston Watson Jr. (Bob Dylan)
  • Joe Berry (M83)

Ezrin commented of the record

“It’s very heavy. It has a revolutionary message but also a good sense of humor. There’s a little bit of heavy metal. There’s quite a bit of funk. But it is a heavy record, and it’s a guitar record left, right and center. Just a wall of guitars most of the time, and mostly driven by Wayne and his ethos.

It’s a snapshot of a guitar man at the height of his powers. We all feel a responsibility to make sure that his work is heard, and he is celebrated. We poured our hearts into the project.”

Alongside this album, a 2-CD/2-LP edition will feature previously unreleased live recordings from the 2018 MC50 tour that celebrated the band’s 50th anniversary. Kramer was joined by Kim Thayil (Soundgarden), Billy Gould (Faith No More), (Doug Pinnick (King’s X, KXM), Brendan Canty (Fugazi) and Marcus Durant (Zen Guerilla) and more during that run.

Heavy Lifting” track listing:

01 – “Heavy Lifting” (feat. Tom Morello)
02 – “Barbarians At The Gate
03 – “Change, No Change
04 – “The Edge Of The Switchblade” (feat. William Duvall & Slash)
05 – “Black Boots” (feat. Tim McIIrath)
06 – “I Am The Fun (The Phoney)
07 – “Twenty-Five Miles
08 – “Because Of Your Car
09 – “Boys Who Play With Matches
10 – “Blind Eye” (feat. Dennis Thompson)
11 – “Can’t Be Found” (feat. Vernon Reid & Dennis Thompson)
12 – “Blessed Release
13 – “Hit It Hard” (feat. Joe Berry)”

Pre-orders are available through The song “Boys Who Play With Matches” is now streaming online.  MC5 will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame this year under the Musical Excellence Award. That ceremony will be held October 19th at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, OH.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch