Category 7

Shadows Fall, Ex-Machine Head/Anthrax, Etc. Members Unite In Category 7


Current and former members of Anthrax, Machine Head, Shadows Fall, Armored Saint and more have united in a new supergroup dubbed Category 7. They have aligned with Metal Blade Records and have plans for a first single to arrive on May 02nd. The group, whose named refers to the most severe category of wind-related storms, will follow that with a debut album this summer.

The band’s roster includes:

Vocals: John Bush (Armored Saint, ex-Anthrax))
Guitars: Mike Orlando (ex-Adrenaline Mob)
Guitars: Phil Demmel (Kerry King, ex-Machine Head/Vio-lence)
Bass: Jack Gibson (Exodus)
Drums: Jason Bittner (Shadows Fall/Overkill)

Demmel commented:

“I think we’re pretty super. Really, I feel like this is a band, not a side project. And I feel like we have written this incredible piece of music, and we’re not done. I’m so proud of the way this came together and the people who were involved. And I think we all feel super positive about this and what else we can do with it going forward.”

Orlando oversaw the production of the band’s album at his own Sonic Stomp Studios. You can find more on how the group cam together via

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch