Umbra VitaeHillarie Jason

Umbra Vitae Debut “Belief Is Obsolete” From New Album “Light Of Death”


Umbra Vitae have newly shared the full details for their sophomore album “Light Of Death“. Due out June 07th on Deathwish Inc., the supergroup tracked that outing at GodCity Studio in Salem, MA with Kurt Ballou (Converge) and Zach Weeks.

Ballou is of course no stranger with Umbra Vitae vocalist Jacob Bannon, as both are members of veteran metalcore band Converge. The rest of the band’s lineup includes guitarist/vocalist Mike “Gunface” McKenzie (The Red Chord, Wear Your Wounds, Stomach Earth), guitarist/vocalist Sean Martin (Twitching Tongues, Wear Your Wounds, ex-Hatebreed), bassist/vocalist Greg Weeks (The Red Chord, Sexless Marriage, etc.), and drummer Jon Rice (Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats, ex-Job For A Cowboy, etc.).

The song “Belief Is Obsolete” serves as the first introduction to this 15-song outing. Martin commented of it:

“This song came from a demo I recorded at ye olde home studio although, as with all of the songs on this record, we managed to make it sound even more disgusting in the best possible way! I like Swedish Death Metal and Thrash, can you tell? Big, mean, hairy end riff to carry you out.”

Bannon continued:

“Musically, ‘Belief Is Obsolete‘ is signature Sean Martin Bay Area Thrash worship. The performances from all of us on this one are completely redlined from beginning to end. Lyrically I explore the idea that ‘belief’ in the traditional sense is obsolete in the modern age we live in. It is abused as a shield and weapon socially, politically, and spiritually, ultimately becoming a burden for all.”

Greg Weeks added:

“One of the great perks of being in this band is that at any moment there could be a crushing song written by Sean Martin in a google drive that you have access to that very few people do. This is an example of such a song. Hard hitting and riff heavy Belief is Obsolete gets me juiced!”

McKenzie also chimed in, stating the song “…has a pretty meaty ending with an over the top lead in to a big riff that is incredibly fun to play. I can’t wait to play this song live.”

Light Of Death” track listing:

01 – “Leave Of Absence
02 – “Belief Is Obsolete
03 – “Clear Cutter
04 – “Anti-Spirit Machine
05 – “Reality In Retrograde
06 – “Past Tense
07 – “Velvet Black
08 – “Twenty-Twenty Vision
09 – “Algorithm Of Fear
10 – “Empty Vessel
11 – “Cause & Effect
12 – “Deep End
13 – “Nature vs. Nurture
14 – “Fatal Flaw
15 – “Light Of Death

You can pre-order the record now via On the live front, the band have a trio of shows with The Hope Conspiracy booked:

06/07 Cambridge, MA – Sonia (feat. Colin Of Arabia & New Lows)
06/08 Brooklyn, NY – Meadows (feat. This Is Hell & Staticlone)
06/09 Philadelphia, PA – First Unitarian Church (feat. Scarab & Staticlone)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch