Cemetery SkylineSam Jamsen

Dark Tranquillity, Amorphis, Etc. Members Unite In Cemetery Skyline


Cemetery Skyline is the name of a new supergroup fronted by Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity, etc.). The band’s debut single, “Violent Storm“, recently was unveiled and is streaming via the below video directed by Patric Ullaeus (In Flames, At The Gates).

The goth metal venture features a number of familiar faces from the European metal scene, with the following lineup involved:

Vocals: Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity, The Halo Effect)
Guitars: Markus Vanhala (Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum, I Am The Night)
Keyboards: Santeri Kallio (Amorphis)
Bass: Victor Brandt (Dimmu Borgir, Witchery, ex-Entombed/Entombed A.D., ex-Firespawn and many more)
Drums: Vesa Ranta (Sentenced, The Abbey)

Guitarist Markus Vanhala commented:

“The weather forecast points to a Nordic gothic storm that is rising. The song mood is highly inspired by the late nightly empty roads of Goth-enburg and their desperate stories of loneliness and getting lost to the unique beautiful misery and sorrow of Nordic gothic.”

Stanne added:

“It’s about a built-up frustration and how it can get out of hand, the feeling of helplessness and how it can take over.”

The aforementioned music video documents the band’s first actual meeting, with Kallio adding:

“We take a walk through an old cemetery and actually meet as a band for the very first time.”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch