CognitiveChris Hosey

Cognitive Announce New Album “Abhorrence”, Share Video For Title Track


Cognitive have a May 17th release date in mind for their new album “Abhorrence“. The technical death metal outfit will be releasing that fifth studio outing of theirs through Metal Blade Records.

The New Jersey-based group kept the sessions for the effort largely in-house, recording it at the studio of their own drummer AJ Viana, who took on the production, engineering and mixing duties. Ryan Williams (ex-The Black Dahlia Murder, etc.) mastered it.

Guitarist Rob Wharton commented:

“Our lyrics for this record are all over the place. There’s some stuff about video games and addiction and mental health. To me, that’s the kind of subject matter that hits home because everyone’s got stuff going on in their lives. It’s relatable.”

He continued:

“We were going through all the song titles and wondering which is the strongest song. We decided to go with Abhorrence. Everyone’s so mean and cruel to each other and the world is terrible. We just felt like it kind of encompassed everything. We had put a lot of time into that one specifically because there are so many repeating parts, but it was mostly about depression, anxiety attacks, and mental health.”

The title track is the first song to be served up, with a video for it available below. Speaking on it, Wharton added:

“‘Abhorrence‘ is a groove-filled song with a melodic chorus. Heavily syncopated drums make every chug hit harder and harder. It’s a song filled with tension and aggressive vocal patterns screaming about anxiety, panic, and depression all at once.”

Abhorrence” track listing:

01 – “Abhorrence
02 – “Insidious
03 – “A Pact Unholy
04 – “Ivory Tower
05 – “As The Light Fades
06 – “Savor The Suffering
07 – “Containment Breach
08 – “Rorschach
09 – “Psychopathy
10 – “Cold Dead Hands

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch