Fantômas Vinyl Reissues Announced For May


Ipecac Recordings, the label co-founded by Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, etc.) and Greg Werckman, officially turned 25 today, April 01st, 2024. In celebration of that milestone, the label will be launching a series of special vinyl reissues throughout the year. Up first is a trio of new pressings from supergroup Fantômas, whose self-titled debut album was also the label’s first-ever release.

Fronted by Patton, that avant-garde quartet also features Buzz Osborne (Melvins), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle), and Dave Lombardo (Mr. Bungle, ex-Slayer, etc.). Up for grabs through are new vinyl pressings of their aforementioned debut record, as well as “The Director’s Cut” and “Suspended Animation“. All of those titles are available across numerous colored vinyl pressings and will be out on May 17th.

A reissue of Dälek‘s “Negro Necro Nekros” will follow through Ipecac on May 10th digitally and on June 28th on vinyl. As for turning 25, several key figures at the label commented as follows.

Greg Werckman:

“A label does not last 25 years without consumer support. We are not the biggest or hippest record label, that was never our goal, but we are so lucky to have such a loyal, adventurous fanbase. We appreciate you and THANK you!”

Mike Patton:

Ipecac was us realizing we needed to start creating our own universe, where albums that didn’t necessarily fit other, more traditional labels, could have a home.”

Ipecac Recordings general manager Marc Schapiro:

“As we look ahead to the next chapter, one thing remains certain: the spirit of creativity that has defined the label from the beginning will continue.”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch