Six Feet Under

Six Feet Under Launch New Single “Know-Nothing Ingrate”


Six Feet Under‘s new single “Know Nothing Ingrade” has just gone up online. That song is taken from the band’s recently announced new album “Killing For Revenge“, due out May 10th through Metal Blade Records. Pre-orders for this 14th studio album from the death metal vets can be obtained

Vocalist Chris Barnes explained the album’s title as such:

“I chose the title ‘Killing For Revenge‘ after we completed writing and noticed that all the lyrics and storylines had a common theme of revenge. Revenge by human or revenge by nature-or both in the song ‘Bestial Savagery‘, which describes the destructive paths of man-made storms. The album title describes the flow of the stories within the lyrics perfectly.”

The band’s own guitarist Jack Owen co-produced this latest effort, with Barnes serving as an assistant. The aforementioned pair of Cannibal Corpse veterans remain joined in the group by guitarist Ray Suhy, bassist Jeff Hughell, and drummer Marco Pitruzzella.

As for this first single, Barnes offered:

“I kind of went back and forth on what song should be the first one to throw out into the world. Jack liked the idea of ‘Know-Nothing Ingrate‘ as the first single as well.”

Owen added:

“We wanted to keep the aggression of a prior Six Feet Under song like ‘Amputator‘. I wrote music in the style of early Dark Angel or Kreator, who always had cool driving drum beats. I had all the riffs in my head as I wrote the drums in a couple hours. Lyrically, It’s basically about online trolls who voice their uneducated and unnecessarily spiteful review of any artist’s output. You’re entitled to your opinion, and I’m entitled to mine.”

Speaking of the included cover of Nazareth‘s 1975 hit “Hair Of The Dog“, Barnes explained:

“‘Hair Of The Dog‘ has such a heavy groove to it and the vocal is so killer and memorable that it seemed like a perfect fit for us, and something fun to add to the album as a bonus track. Plus there’s cowbell!”

Killing For Revenge” track listing:

01 – “Know-Nothing Ingrate
02 – “Accomplice To Evil Deeds
03 – “Ascension
04 – “When The Moon Goes Down In Blood
05 – “Hostility Against Mankind
06 – “Compulsive
07 – “Fit Of Carnage
08 – “Neanderthal” (feat. Jason Suecof)
09 – “Judgement Day
10 – “Bestial Savagery
11 – “Mass Casualty Murdercide
12 – “Spoils Of War
13 – “Hair Of The Dog” (Nazareth cover) (CD/digital only)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch