Uncle Acid & The DeadbeatsKarin Hunt

Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats Announce New Album “Nell’ Ora Blu”


Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats have revealed their sixth studio album, “Nell’ Ora Blu“. That 19-song outing serves as a score of sorts which pays tribute to 70s Italian cinema. The band’s vocalist/guitarist, etc. Kevin R. “Uncle Acid” Starrs commented of the project:

“I know something like this might have limited appeal, but who cares? Most of what we do has a limited appeal anyway! It’s just a real mix of different styles that I like. There are no singles or ‘hits’. Instead, it all just flows along one thing into the next. You can think of it like blood seeping from a wound. It’s continuous. By the end of it, you’re left exhausted. It’s hard work for the listener. We don’t do easy listening!”

He continued:

“It’s a tribute to 70s Italian cinema. It’s a story about people who decide to take the law into their own hands. Things get pretty dark straight away and of course, it doesn’t end well for anyone. It has elements of grimy poliziotteschi (Italian crime/action films) and classic Giallo (Italian cinema’s revered horror/sexploitation movement).

Once I decided to do everything in Italian, I made a list of actors that I wanted. Franco Nero and Edwige Fenech were the first names I thought of. Two legends that had never been paired together before. I contacted their agents and both actors were interested in the idea, so we set it up from there.”

The aforementioned pair provide dialogue that is interspersed in-between the tracks, aiding in achieving the vision Starrs set out for with the record.

Nell’ Ora Blu track listing:

01 – “Il Sole Sorge Sempre
02 – “Giustizia di Strada – Lavora Fino alla Morte
03 – “La Vipera
04 – “Vendetta (Tema)
05 – “La Bara Resterà Chiusa
06 – “Cocktail Party
07 – “Il Tesoro di Sardegna
08 – “Nell’ Ora Blu
09 – “Il Chiamante Silenzioso
10 – “Tortura al Telefono
11 – “Pomeriggio di Novembre Nel Parco – Occhi che Osservano
12 – “Il Retorno del Chiamante Silenzioso
13 – “Solo la Morte to Ammanetta
14 – “Il Gatto Morto
15 – “Guidando Veloce Verso la Campagna
16 – “L’Omicidio
17 – “Resti Umani
18 – “ Sorge Anche il Sole
19 – “Ritorno All’Oscurità

Rise Above Records will have the album out on May 10th.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch