SlashGene Kirkland

Guns N’ Roses’ Slash Recruits Demi Lovato, AC/DC’s Brian Johnson, & More For New Blues Covers Album


Guns N’ Roses‘ resident guitar hero Slash has a new blues covers album titled “Orgy Of The Damned” slated for a May 17th release through Gibson Records. The guest-filled opus is preceded by an updated take on “Killing Floor“, which sees AC/DC vocalist Brian Johnson on vocals and Aerosmith frontman Steven Tyler on harmonica. That track was originally penned back in 1964 by Howlin’ Wolf.

Slash commented on this rendition:

“‘Killing Floor‘ is one of my favorite Howlin’ Wolf songs, but also one of the iconic blues riffs that turned me on as a young guitar player. I’ve always wanted to cover it in some capacity and this record was the perfect vehicle. But playing it with this band, and with Brian Johnson singing, it was an achievement I would never have imagined back then. Let alone Steven Tyler providing the harp.”

Johnson added:

“When Slash asked me to sing on ‘Killing Floor‘, I said yes immediately. It was one of the first songs I learned in my very first band, and when he played me the backing track it was a no-brainer, and Steven‘s harmonica is so bloody hot. I had a ball with Slash in the studio, and I think we did this great old song justice. Rock on.”

Slash has recruited a backing band that includes vocalist/guitarist Tash Neal, bassist Johnny Griparic, keyboardist Teddy Andreadis and drummer Michael Jerome for this album. Both Griparic and Andreadis previously played with Slash in his 90s Slash’s Blues Ball side project.

A cavalcade of guests appear on this primarily covers-oriented album, with the below track listing revealed:

01 – “The Pusher” (feat. Chris Robinson of The Black Crowes) (Steppenwolf cover)
02 – “Crossroads” (feat. Gary Clark Jr.) (Robert Johnson cover)
03 – “Hoochie Coochie Man” (feat. Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top) (Willie Dixon/Muddy Waters cover)
04 – “Oh Well” (feat. Chris Stapleton) (Fleetwood Mac cover)
05 – “Key To The Highway” (feat. Dorothy) (Charlie Segar cover)
06 – “Awful Dream” (feat. Iggy Pop) (Lightnin’ Hopkins cover)
07 – “Born Under A Bad Sign” (feat. Paul Rodgers of Bad Company) (Albert King cover)
08 – “Papa Was A Rolling Stone” (feat. Demi Lovato) (The Temptations cover)
09 – “Killing Floor” (feat. Brian Johnson of AC/DC & Steven Tyler of Aerosmith) (Howlin’ Wolf cover)
10 – “Living For The City” (feat. Tash Neal) (Stevie Wonder cover)
11 – “Stormy Monday” (feat. Beth Hart) (T. Bone Walker cover)
12 – “Metal Chestnut

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch