Bear McCreary

Guns N’ Roses, System Of A Down, Slipknot, Soundgarden, Etc. Members Involved With New Rock Opera Album From Bear McCreary


Acclaimed composer Bear McCreary (‘God Of War‘, ‘The Walking Dead‘) has recruited a cadre of rock and metal stars for his upcoming rock concept album, ‘The Singularity‘. The spark for that album has been a near lifelong dream for McCreary and will arrive on May 10th.

An accompanying graphic novel published by Image Comics will be out on May 08th, while a special live concert for the record will be held at the Fonda Theatre in Los Angeles, CA on May 12th.

Among the lengthy list of individuals involved in the album side of sings are:

  • Slash (Guns N’ Roses)
  • Serj Tankian (System Of A Down)
  • Corey Taylor (Slipknot)
  • Kim Thayil (Soundgarden)
  • Scott Ian (Anthrax)
  • Jens Kidman (Meshuggah)
  • Brendon Small (‘Metalocalypse‘, Dethklok)
  • Joe Satriani
  • Ben Weinman (The Dillinger Escape Plan, etc.)
  • Gene Hoglan (Dethklok, Dark Angel, etc.)
  • Buck Dharma (‘Blue Öyster Cult‘)
  • Asdru Sierra (Ozomatli)
  • Griogair
  • Mike Keneally (Frank Zappa)
  • Steve Bartek & John Avilia (Oingo Boingo)
  • Guthrie Govan & Bryan Beller (The Aristocrats)
  • Rufus Wainwright
  • Warren Fitzgerald (The Vandals)
  • Sigurjón Kjartansson (HAM)
  • Esjay Jones (We Are PIGS)
  • Billy Boyd (‘The Lord Of The Rings‘)
  • Eivør (‘God Of War‘)
  • Raya Yarbrough
  • Mega Ran

The album was co-written and co-produced by Bear‘s brother Brendan, who also contributed lead vocals to eight of the featured tracks. Three spoken word monologues lifted from the graphic novel help flesh out the album’s story, with actors Lee Pace (‘The Hobbit‘, ‘Guardians Of The Galaxy‘), Danai Gurira (‘The Walking Dead‘, ‘Black Panther‘) and Ryan Hurst (‘Sons Of Anarchy‘, ‘God Of War Ragnarök‘) lending their talents to those interludes.

McCreary commented:

“I began writing The Singularity when I was fifteen. I was obsessed, even then, with melding my love of hard rock, symphonic film scores, and dramatic storytelling into a cohesive whole, laying the groundwork for what would become a concept album, graphic novel, and concert experience. I spent the next three decades trying to perfect it.

My first demo from high school, a thirty-year-old cassette-tape recording, even makes a cameo appearance on the record, moments before the melody is reinvigorated by a new interpretation from Slash, one of the guitarists who originally inspired it. I am honored to be joined by dozens more of my favorite artists, each of whom brought their unique personalities to this record.”

You can find out more on the effort via, with a video for the first single, featuring Rufus Wainwright.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch