DeicideDeidra Kling

Deicide Premiere “Sever The Tongue” Video, Reveal April Release For New Album “Banished By Sin”


After delivering a Christmas day present in the form of their track “Bury The Cross…With Your Christ“, veteran Satanic death metal band Deicide are back with another song debut on a religiously-themed holiday.

Taking advantage of today (February 14th) being Ash Wednesday, the band have unleashed their new track, “Sever The Tongue“. A NSFW music video for that was shot with director David Brodsky (Cattle Decapitation, Cannibal Corpse).

The band have also taken the wraps off their thirteenth studio album, “Banished By Sin“. An April 26th release date has been scheduled for that via Reigning Phoenix Music. Recording sessions for it took place with the group taking on the production duties, while Jeramie Kling assisted with the engineering.

Mixing and mastering was done by Josh Wilbur (Lamb Of God, All That Remains). Benton spoke of the record:

“I’ve been sitting in a dark corner for several years now. A few things have come into my life that have shaken and changed me. I got inspired writing this new record—it was like flipping a switch. I no longer have the aggravation of other peoples’ hangups interfering with what I have and want to do. I stopped chasing everybody else’s happiness a long time ago. The guy who started this shit is back! And it’s good to be back!”

“Musically, we’re back to the 1990s style. There’s modern stuff in there, too. It’s Deicide the way it was meant to be. My hooky songs are there, Steve‘s prog-styled songs are there, and we got Kevin‘s theme-styled songs. Having Taylor in the band has impacted Deicide greatly. He’s a fantastic songwriter and player. He can do anything. The four of us contributed three songs each. I’m back with the high screaming and layering. I’m just absolutely going off on this one. I’ve been told it’s one of my best vocal performances. I’m like Rumpelstiltskin—here to spin your hay into gold. Everybody’s going to be pleasantly surprised.”

Banished By Sin” track listing:

01 – “From Unknown Heights You Shall Fall
02 – “Doomed To Die
03 – “Sever The Tongue
04 – “Faithless
05 – “Bury The Cross…With Your Christ
06 – “Woke From God
07 – “Ritual Defied
08 – “Failures Of Your Dying Lord
09 – “Banished By Sin
10 – “Trinity Of None
11 – “I Am I…A Curse Of Death
12 – “The Light Defeated

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch