Slipknot & Jay Weinberg At 2024 GRAMMY Awards

Current & Former Members Of Slipknot Separately Attended Yesterday’s GRAMMY Awards


In a situation sadly reminiscent of Deftones and their former bassist/vocalist Sergio Vega a few years back, yesterday (February 04th) saw current and former members of Slipknot separately attend the annual GRAMMY Awards.

Representing the Iowan masked metal marauders were percussionist M. Shawn “Clown” Crahan, turntablist Sid Wilson, bassist Alessandro “Vman” Venturella and percussionist/vocalist Michael “Tortilla Man” Pfaff.

Also attending the festivities was the band’s ex-drummer Jay Weinberg, who was infamously fired from the outfit this past November. All of the above were there for Slipknot‘s eleventh GRAMMY nomination, with their track “Hive Mind” having been up for the ‘Best Metal Performance’. A potential bit of awkwardness was avoided however, as ultimately it was the title track to Metallica‘s “72 Seasons” which took home the hardware for that category.

Slipknot have thus far only taken home one GRAMMY back in 2005, for the “Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses)” single “Before I Forget“.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch