VitriolPeter Beste

Vitriol Announce New Album “Suffer & Become”, Premiere “The Flowers Of Sadism” Video


Portland, Oregon death metal quartet Vitriol have announced a January 26th release date through Century Media for their sophomore album, “Suffer & Become“. Guitarist/vocalist Kyle Rasmussen took on the production duties, while Dave Otero (Cattle Decapitation, Aborted) oversaw the mix and mastering.

A first single, “The Flowers Of Sadism“, has just been released and is complemented by a music video shot by Vile Luxe Entertainment.

Rasmussen said of the track:

“‘Flowers‘ explores the topic of early developmental trauma and the resulting emotional alchemy that can lead to the development of sadistic impulses. While not being an ideal strategy in the presence of healthier alternatives, embracing my more vicious instincts was the key to my psychological and emotional survival at a time when my environment was both hostile and inescapable. It marks the beginning of a complicated journey of seduction by the necessary evils adopted in the pursuit of that survival.”

As for the album itself, Rasmussen offered:

“I wanted to have an album that had a stark duality to it. Very high highs and very low lows. We’re very familiar with the lows but not so much with the triumphant highs. I wanted the album to have more of a sense of optimism to it, both lyrically and musically. I wanted the album to convey a sense of optimism that probably gets lost in the black maelstrom that is the first album.”

Suffer & Become” track listing:

01 – “Shame And Its Afterbirth
02 – “The Flowers Of Sadism
03 – “Nursing From The Mother Wound
04 – “The Isolating Lie Of Learning Another
05 – “Survival’s Careening Inertia
06 – “Weaponized Loss
07 – “Flood Of Predation
08 – “Locked In Thine Frothing Wisdom
09 – “I Am Every Enemy
10 – “He Will Fight Savagely

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch