CryptopsyMihaela Petrescu

Cryptopsy Share Details For Their First New Album In Over A Decade


Canadian technical death metal lifers Cryptopsy have announced September 08th as the release date for their first album in a decade, “As Gomorrah Burns“. The group are currently planning to tour this fall around the record’s release on a headlining run dubbed the ‘Carnival Of Death Tour‘. More details are still to come.

As for this new album, vocalist Matt McGachy offered:

“I’m excited to finally unveil ‘As Gomorrah Burns.’ It’s an album that we have been crafting for the past five years. A meticulous endeavor that we are proud of. It’s the perfect medley of oldschool Cryptopsy with a few modern twists. We’ve leaned heavily into the grooves and let some of the riffs breathe just a little more than we have on the past few releases. I’m really stoked about the new era of Cryptopsy.”

In Abeyance” is the record’s single and a music video for it was shot with director Chris Kells (The Agonist, Beneath The Massacre). You can watch that below, with McGachy adding:

“‘In Abeyance‘ is conceptually about feeling isolated while being submerged in a new environment. The hunt for a sense of belonging while mourning a previous life. Musically, it’s a slap in the face. It’s a banger that appears to be straightforward yet remains ultra complex.”

A press release delved further into the band’s vision for the record, offering:

‘Conceptually, “As Gomorrah Burns” pits the Biblical story of Sodom and Gomorrah against the modern-day Internet. McGachy’s idea was to show how it’s both the birthplace of invention and a cesspool of exploitation. The stories are based on real-life incidences—online stalkers, cults, misinformation, isolation, and intimidation—but ornamented deviously to enhance their potency.’

As Gomorrah Burns” track listing:

01 – “Lascivious Undivine
02 – “In Abeyance
03 – “Godless Deceiver
04 – “Ill Ender
05 – “Flayed The Swine
06 – “The Righteous Lost
07 – “Obeisant
08 – “Praise The Filth

Pre-orders are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch