Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats

Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats To Release “Slaughter On First Avenue” Live Album, Share “Eyes Of London” Performance


Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats will be dropping a live album titled “Slaughter On First Avenue” on July 28th through Rise Above Records. That outing will combine sets the band played live at First Avenue in Minneapolis, MN across two separate time periods, including one show from 2019 and another from 2022.

Vocalist/guitarist, etc. Kevin R. Starrs commented:

“People have been asking for a live record, and sometimes it’s nice to give people what they want. Especially if you follow it up with something they definitely don’t want! Overall it’s a very raw sounding recording, and that’s just how it was on the night. There was no specific reason for choosing the first show, other than some guy just turned up and offered to record it, so we let him! It’s a proper live record with all the mistakes kept in.”

He continued:

“I think one of our strengths is that most of what we do live is the exact opposite of what’s expected at a rock show. There’s no warm chit-chat, no rehearsed anecdotes, no pleasantries, no running around. It’s so dark you can’t see our faces, and sometimes we play with our backs turned. It shouldn’t work, but it does. We just lock into the music and feed off the crowd. Some people still want all that old-time stage banter stuff and want to feel loved, which is fine, but I think a cold relentless hammer attack on the senses works better for a band like us.

The second show had a few different songs so it made sense to add those in. The first show was better, though. I remember the crowd was pretty wild that night. The second show was more subdued and a bit looser. That was just as gigs started happening again, so I think people were still a bit cautious. Either that or all the wild ones had died!”

Slaughter On First Avenue” track listing:

01 – “I See Through You
02 – “Waiting for Blood
03 – “Death’s Door
04 – “Shockwave City
05 – “Thirteen Candles
06 – “Dead Eyes Of London
07 – “Pusher Man
08 – “Ritual Knife
09 – “Slow Death
10 – “Crystal Spiders
11 – “Blood Runner
12 – “Desert Ceremony
13 – “I’ll Cut You Down
14 – “No Return

If you weren’t on hand to attend the shows live in person, you can check out the below featured performance of “Eyes Of London” from the album.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch