Devin Townsend

Devin Townsend To Release “Devolution Series #3 – Empath Live In America” In August


Canadian prog metaller Devin Townsend will be launching his new live album “Devolution Series #3 – Empath Live In America” on August 04th via Hevy Devy Records/InsideOutMusic. That outing features performances from his early 2020 touring ahead of the pandemic.

Townsend himself stated of the release:

- Advertisement -

“Hello everyone :) continuing in the ‘Devolution’ series of albums (which has been an avenue for us to release cool little curiosities on the side of regular releases) we bring you ‘Devolution #3 – Empath Live In America’.

This was a very unique tour for me, and one that was regrettably cut short by the pandemic. It was a stripped back version of the ‘Order of Magnitude’ band (without choir and a few other members…), but as i try to do with each tour, the goal was to make this a unique and special night. Therefore, this tour marked a ‘free form’ version of the material.

There were no backing tracks, click tracks, or even a setlist, so every night was unique and different. The audience yelled out requests and we just rolled with it. The material was therefore interpreted in unique ways and the experience was a very special ‘fly by the seat of our pants’ musical night.

It’s a raw and off kilter performance and I’m thrilled to have documented it. Until the next ‘real’ release, I hope you enjoy this rarity from a special, albeit ill-fated tour.”

The featured live performance of “Evermore” can be heard below.

Devolution Series #3 – Empath Live In America” track listing:

01 – “Intro
02 – “Evermore
03 – “Supercrush!
04 – “March Of The Poozers
05 – “Why?
06 – “Hyperdrive!
07 – “Fuck Around Section
08 – “Ih-Ah!
09 – “Gigpig Jam
10 – “Forgive Me
11 – “Love?” (Strapping Young Lad cover)
12 – “Kingdom

Pre-orders are availble here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch