Eye Am

Supergroup EYE AM (Crowbar, Ex-Type O Negative, Etc.) Tease New Single “Dreams Always Die With The Sun”


EYE AM, the new fledgling new supergroup comprised of members of Crowbar, Type O Negativea nd more, will be debuting their first single “Dreams Always Die With The Sun” on June 02nd. A music video for the track directed by Mike Holderbeast will arrive in conjunction with the song.

EYE AM‘s lineup includes Crowbar vocalist/guitarist Kirk Windstein, ex-Type O Negative guitarist/vocalist Kenny Hickey and drummer/vocalist Johnny Kelly, and ex-Crowbar/Down bassist Todd Strange. They plan to convene in the studio late this June to record their debut album.

- Advertisement -

Speaking of this new single, which you can preview below, Windstein offered:

“For me, I just love jamming and writing songs with talented people. Of course, I’ve jammed with Todd Strange since the ‘80s, so I knew that would be great, but having the opportunity to get together with Kenny and Johnny was exciting! I was a little nervous at first, but once we started putting the song together, I had a great feeling we were on to something special! I love the song, and can’t wait to write some more with these guys!”

Hickey added:

“Well, we didn’t really know what would happen when we got together. I had a few riffs and half-finished ideas, and I recorded them and sent them to Kirk and he wrote some ideas off of that. I think because we’re all around the same age, it echoes the music we grew up with, which was mostly ‘70’s hard rock and metal. It has a classic rock quality to it.

I hear some Hendrix in there as well. It’s really satisfying when you throw musicians and riffs into a pot and then listen back to hear what comes out of it. It’s somehow less contrived sounding, I think. It could have also hit the wall and ended up a disaster, which adds an element of risk to it as well. But I think we came out with something really cool.”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch