Better LoversJames Hartley

Former Every Time I Die & The Dillinger Escape Plan Members Launch New Band Better Lovers, Debut First Single “30 Under 13”


Better Lovers has been revealed as the new supergroup formed from the ashes of metalcore favorites Every Time I Die and mathcore daredevils The Dillinger Escape Plan. Ex-Every Time I Die guitarist Jordan Buckley, bassist Stephen Micciche and drummer Clayton “Goose” Holyoak have remained together in this new venture, while former The Dillinger Escape Plan vocalist Greg Puciato serves as the vocalist. Rounding out the lineup is musician/producer Will Putney on guitars. In addition to his work behind the boards, Putney is a member of Fit For An Autopsy & END.

An Eric Richter-directed music video for the song “30 Under 13” has arrived as the outfit’s debut single and has emerged via SharpTone Records below. Buckley commented:

“Looking back, I’m so happy everything got me to where I am. The pandemic and the last few years made me hungrier and more grateful. This isn’t a hobby. This isn’t temporary. This is the next evolution for each of us. Greg and Will rejuvenated me and made me even more confident. Now, everybody needs to know we’re a wild animal that just broke out of the zoo—there’s no trying to put it back in the cage.”

Puciato offered:

Jordan sent me some already finished instrumental tracks, and they hit me at just the right time. Those tracks woke up a side of me that I thought was fully extinct but was merely evolving and changing. To my complete surprise there was still something left in that area to dig at, and the vessel for it made sense.”

Putney added:

“It’s a group of loaded weapons all firing at full power ready for the next chapter of our music careers, and I can confidently say our collective best work is ahead of us.”

In addition to that, the group will soon be announced as the openers for a package tour.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch