ImmortalLeander Djønne

Immortal To Release New Album “War Against All” In May, Debut Title Track


Legendary Norwegian black metal outfit Immortal will have their 10th studio album “War Against All” out on May 26th via Nuclear Blast. The 8-song outing was spearheaded by the band’s founding vocalist/guitarist Demonaz Doom Occulta, as drummer Horgh exited the fold last year amid the resolution of a bitter legal dispute over the band’s trademarks in favor of Demonaz.

The title track is the first song to surface online from the record and you can watch a lyric video for it below. Demonaz stated of it:

“‘War Against All‘ was the first track I wrote for this album. It’s a fast one where the riffs are mostly inspired by my riffs from Battles in the North. The lyrics are in the true Blashyrkh battle feel and mood for an opening track too.

The frosty, raw, and fast battle songs in this style mean everything to me. I will never forget the early years, or disappoint the fans with slowing down the pace.”

Speaking of the album itself, he offered:

“Even though the studio work is necessary to get an ultimate recording, the writing process is obviously my favorite. I still write all the guitar riffs/music at home with the same old vibe, and the lyrics as well. The early days of black metal inspire me the most. Cold nights in the woods, on the mountains under the winter moon. That´s what keeps the spirit alive, and the foundation to all our music.”

Sessions for the effort took place at Conclave And Earshot Studios in Bergen, Norway with Enslaved‘s Arve Isdal producing. Speaking of that, he added:

“It´s actually the same studio where I recorded the guitars and vocals for ‘Northern Chaos Gods‘. They also did a great job with the new album, and it was a pleasure to go back and work there again. I am especially pleased with the outcome on this one. It´s got that cold-biting guitar sound, yet powerful production.

Immortal have never compromised on the original vision, which is taking fans on a journey through Blashyrkh with our most grim and dark music, with every new release. These songs are no exception to this. I am proud of the final result, it ´s got a distinct expression, and I can ´t wait to let the fans hear it!”

War Against All” track listing:

01 – “War Against All
02 – “Thunders Of Darkness
03 – “Wargod
04 – “No Sun
05 – “Return To Cold
06 – “Norlandihr
07 – “Immortal
08 – “Blashyrkh My Throne

Pre-orders for the record can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch