Incendiary Set May Release For New Album “Change The Way You Think About Pain”, Debut “Bite The Hook”


Long Island hardcore outfit Incendiary will have their long-awaited fourth studio album “Change The Way You Think About Pain” out on May 26th via Closed Casket Activities. Ahead of that is the newly revealed single “Bite The Hook“, which also serves as the album’s opener.

Vocalist Brendan Garrone offered of the track:

“Much of the content of the record deals with the idea of pain, specifically pain avoidance. ‘Bite The Hook‘ is about the struggles one faces when letting something fester and go unresolved. The song’s aggression and vibe sets the tone for the rest of the record.”

Guitarist Brian Audley added of the record itself:

“The goal with this album was to refine our songwriting and deliver it more aggressively. The expectation for a hardcore band on their fourth LP may be to start sanding the edges off and becoming more polished and anthemic. We wanted to go the complete opposite direction and make them sharper. Will Putney understood the assignment from the first day we stepped into his studio. He helped us execute on our goal by bringing out the most aggressive elements for the abrasive production the songs called for.”

As mentioned above, the group recorded the effort with producer Will Putney (Body Count, Every Time I Die) at his Graphic Nature Audio in Belleville, NJ. Speaking further on the album, Garrone added:

“We are kind of in rare territory being a hardcore band on their fourth LP. It feels like a milestone. By now, you’re either ‘supposed’ to drastically change your sound or have it be the exact same thing as the record before. We didn’t want to do either of those things. Our focus was on refining the sound that we’ve optimally been working towards rather than any desire to make a huge pivot.”

As for what the effort is about, Garrone explained:

“The album is a mix of both the socio-politically driven content and darker, more personalized subjects. The album title is meant to conjure the concept of pain avoidance. Most of the songs have some kind of tie back to the things everyone does to avoid feeling any semblance of pain. ‘Pain avoidance’ is a phrase me and Brian came across and kept in the back of our minds.”

Change The Way You Think About Pain” track listing:

01 – “Bite The Hook
02 – “Jesus Bones
03 – “Echo Of Nothing
04 – “Host/Parasite
05 – “Lie Of Liberty
06 – “C.T.E.
07 – “Collision
08 – “Rats In The Cellar
09 – “Santosha (Illusion Of The Self)
10 – “Change The Way You Think About Pain

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch