Dave LombardoEkaterina Gorbacheva

Dave Lombardo (Ex-Slayer, Etc.) To Release His Debut Solo Album “Rites Of Percussion” In May, Hear “Journey Of The Host”


Legendary drummer Dave Lombardo will be releasing his debut solo album “Rites Of Percussion” on May 05th via Ipecac Recordings. Known for his genre-defining work in Slayer, as well as his impressive work behind the kit with Fantômas, Mr. Bungle, Suicidal Tendencies, Testament, and more, the quality of Lombardo catalog tends to stand for itself.

He has introduced this forthcoming album to the world with the debut of a new single, “Journey Of The Host“. Lombardo said of the outing:

- Advertisement -

“[Mike] Patton originally gave me the idea as far back as 1998. “He introduced me to Tito Puente’s Top Percussion album. I was already familiar with Tito and was a bit shocked that Patton was so musically diverse, and that he surrounded himself with musicians of the same mindset. That inspired me. I have had ideas that I’ve recorded on cassette over the years, but Patton kept insisting that I had to do a ‘drum album.’ So, the idea behind the album is years in the making. I just had to find the right time—for me—to do it.

When the pandemic hit, I thought, ‘Well, I can’t tour now. I immediately started working on the record. It was one of the greatest experiences I’ve ever had. I had my studio, all my drums. Nothing was in storage for once! My home became a place where I could be free and creative. On the one hand, the touring part of my livelihood had been taken away, but on the other, I finally had the time to educate myself on different software and recording techniques. It was a very educational and gratifying experience.”

Lombardo recorded the effort amid the pandemic, opting to self-produce it. He had his son David A. Lombardo take on the mixing duties for the effort, which features a raft of various percussive instruments and more.

Rites Of Percussion” track listing:

01 – “Initiatory Madness
02 – “Separation From The Sacred
03 – “Inner Sanctum
04 – “Journey Of The Host
05 – “Maunder In Liminality
06 – “Despojo
07 – “Interfearium
08 – “Blood Let
09 – “Warpath
10 – “Guerrero
11 – “Vicissitude
12 – “Omiero
13 – “Animismo

Pre-orders for the record are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch