Cattle DecapitationAlex Solca

Cattle Decapitation Unveil New Album “Terrasite”


San Diego, CA deathgrinders have revealed the initial details for their eighth studio album a bit ahead of schedule. That effort is titled “Terrasite” and the artwork for it, done by Wes Benscoter, can be seen below.

A May 12th release date has been slated for the outing via Metal Blade Records, which is dedicated to the memory of the late Gabe Serbian (The Locust, etc.).

Terrasite” track listing:

01 – “Terrasitic Adaptation
02 – “We Eat Our Young
03 – “Scourge Of The Offspring
04 – “The Insignificants
05 – “The Storm Upstairs
06 – “…And The World Will Go On Without You
07 – “A Photic Doom
08 – “Dead End Residents
09 – “Solastalgia
10 – “Just Another Body

The group commented:

“Recently we posted that we would be revealing all details to the new album next month. Unfortunately, somebody leaked everything onto Reddit a couple days ago and the user has been doing the same to other bands for a while now.

We have decided to release the announcement that we were going to do for our new album, “Terrasite”, as it has been an idea that was 8 years in the making, and will most likely require an explanation for proper absorption…

Terrasite (noun)
/ˌterə ˌsīt/ (terr·a·site)
“terra-“ (Latin = “earth”) + “-sitos” (Greek = “food”)

1. A devourer or destroyer of land or earth.
2. Post-Anthropocene “Humanity”.

We’ve all heard the old saying about how the cockroach is so pervasive… so insidious… so invasive… that they could “survive a nuclear war”. Our previous album “Death Atlas” left the world blackened and lifeless… or so we thought. It turns out that the carbon-encrusted bodies that adorned the album’s layout and music video (and that resemble the victims of Pompeii that were frozen in time by the Mt. Vesuvius disaster of 79 A.D.) were actually more of a cocoon-like stage for something much more vicious to come…
Humanity Part 2: The Terrasite.

On the album’s cover we see the terrasite, aka ~Blattodea Humanis Immortalis~ aka “earth-eater”, molting from its ootheca as others are beginning to awaken to their new lives. Having endured the tortuous existence of being a homosapien, they have now re-emerged into a new world… frightened… saddened… confused… PISSED. Re-birthed as a novel variant of human disease, now adapted to the hellish landscape their former lives helped create in order to continue to finish the utter ravaging of its home planet, Earth.

As they say… “life finds a way”.

Terrasite will be released on May 12th on Metal Blade Records and is dedicated to the memory of Gabe Serbian.”

You can watch the band perform the album track “We Eat Our Young” live here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch