MemoriamReaper Entertainment

Memoriam (Ex-Bolt Thrower) To Release New Album “Rise To Power” In February


Memoriam (ex-Bolt Thrower) have announced a February 03rd release date for their fifth studio album, “Rise To Power“. The British death metal outfit will be issuing that record, which was produced by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, Dimmu Borgir) at Parlour Studios, through Reaper Entertainment.

All Is Lost” has been primed to serve as the first single from the effort and will receive its online premiere on December 09th. You can pre-save it here. The group had the following to say about what they have in store on the effort:

“Introducing album number five, Rise To Power, the second album of the second trilogy. For this album we again worked with the creative genius, Mr. Dan Seagrave. Dan has created the previous four album covers for us, so to keep the theme and continuity there would be no other choice.

We love the work he creates and to be part of the creative process whilst the artwork is developing is a great experience. To see our basic ideas come to life through his mind and hands is amazing and he always delivers. This time around the cover has a majestic purple color theme and features the ‘King’ — the central character throughout all of the artwork that Dan has created for us — at his crowning ceremony where he ‘rises to power.’

The lyrical content of the new album carries on from those that precede it, maintaining the theme of grief, loss, and despair along with social commentary on recent events such as the war in Ukraine and past events such as the Holocaust. The ever-present subject of war is prevalent throughout the album as it is on all of the others.

We consider Rise To Power our strongest album to date, as it includes a diverse range of songs building on what we have achieved with Memoriam over the past seven years. Rise To Power is a true celebration of life through death metal.”

Seagrave added:

“In this cover, as with the previous albums we are working backwards from the war. The premise finds the main leader’s coronation as supreme ruler, his followers always a semi faceless army as is the leader, preferring to keep their face a figment of the viewer’s imagination — emotionless behind a façade.

The architectural environment I put together is based on memories of visiting the ruins of Roman Emperor Hadrian’s Villa in 2017 – a location often drawn by the Italian artist Piranesi. And it’s also his rendering of the Appian Way that I was thinking about for this. Giving the art a hemmed in archaic and historically overbuilt quality.

Similarly, another point of reference was the hall of plaster casts in the Victoria And Albert Museum. This in particular has an imposing feeling when you stand amongst the variety of historical casts and their disproportionate scales. Items like the full scale casting of Rome’s Trajan’s column, and a statue of David juxtaposed in one place create a disjointed feeling amongst the smaller works.

I wanted this cover to have a similar feel to that, like things are appropriated from somewhere else repurposed by the reigning mob as a backdrop for their own glory. Combining that and an imagined early 20th century retro modernity feel, with the addition of electrical grid like elements and war machines tanks that feature semi elaborate sculpture reliefs, alluding to an impracticality: Image over function.”

Rise To Power” track listing:

01 – “Never Forget, Never Again (6 Million Dead)
02 – “Total War
03 – “I Am The Enemy
04 – “The Conflict Is Within
05 – “Annihilation’s Dawn
06 – “All Is Lost
07 – “Rise To Power
08 – “This Pain

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch