Venomous Concept

Venomous Concept (Napalm Death, Ex-Brutal Truth) Due In February, Hear New Track “Voices”


Venomous Concept will be issuing their new album “The Good Ship Lollipop” on February 24th via Decibel Records. The group feature numerous metal veterans among their ranks, including Napalm Death‘s Shane Embury and John Cooke, ex-Brutal Truth vocalist Kevin Sharp and former Cancer drummer Carl Stokes.

Simon Efemey (Paradise Lost, Amorphis) produced this new outing, with Embury offering:

“It was an amazing fun and creative experience, recording while there were COVID restrictions. We seem to only now dimly recall the whole process but this record lives it and breathes it…When the pandemic hit, we decided we needed to make an album that didn’t fit. We all loved so much other kind of punk and rock, so why not explore that which is, in essence, closer to our hearts? To do the same album over and over again would be boring.”

As to how they wound up on Decibel Records, Sharp offered:

“When Decibel released the Deadguy live record [‘Buyer’s Remorse‘] this year, my gears turned. Having supported the band in print and via flexi disc, we were stoked to see [Decibel editor] Albert [Mudrian]’s interest in this VC record. It’s a different kind record and deserves a different kind of approach. The music industry is in constant evolution and this approach to getting our music out seems like a good fit amongst old friends on our terms.”

A video for the first single “Voices” has been shared online below.

The Good Ship Lollipop” track listing:

01 – “The Good Ship Lollipop
02 – “Timeline
03 – “Slack Jaw
04 – “Pig
05 – “Clinical
06 – “Fractured
07 – “Voices
08 – “So Sick
09 – “Flowers Bloom
10 – “The Humble Crow
11 – “Can’t Lose
12 – “Everything Is Endlessness
13 – “Life’s Winter

Pre-orders can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch