InsomniumTerhi Ylimäinen

Insomnium Detail New Album “Anno 1696”, Debut “Lilian” Music Video


Finnish melodic death metallers Insomnium have had their ninth full-length album “Anno 1696” slated for a February 24th release date through Century Media. An official press release laid out the concept for the record, offering the following:

Anno 1696‘ is a gateway into another world. This time around, Insomnium tells us a tale based on a short story by Niilo Sevänen (bass/vocals), woven with sorrow and the last crumbling vestiges of hope, plus wrath and morbid lullabies. Welcome to 1696. Welcome to hell. This is an age of unrest. The age of great famine in the North.

The witch hunt is in full swing all across Europe and the gruesome witch trials have even reached the remote and majestic landscapes of Finland and Sweden. ‘The Torsåker witch trials were a horrible source of nightmarish inspiration,’ Sevänen says of his ghastly muse. ‘All that talk about 70 women beheaded in this small Swedish parish? It’s real stuff from history!’ he groans. ‘And as if that weren’t enough, there are also some very dark tales of cannibalism and child murder from the years of the great famine.’ Stories don’t get any more metal than this.’

Lilian” has newly been launched as the first single, complete with a music video directed by Riivata Visuals. Guitarist Markus Vanhala commented:

“‘Lilian‘ is probably the most traditional Insomnium hit song on the album – and an easy starter as single – before the heavier main course comes in. It shows the lighter shade of the album, before all hope leaves.”

Sevänen also weighed in:

“This is Ville‘s composition, and it has some of that old Insomnium feel in it. Felt like a video-song from the start. Lyrically, it tells how the tragic couple in the story met each other in the first place.”

Guitarist Ville Friman added:

“One of the first songs to emerge during the pandemic era. It has this old Insomnium vibe and tonality that I tend to steer towards every time I pick up the guitar.”

A companion 3-song EP titled “Songs Of The Dusk” will accompany select editions of the record, Sevänen had the following to say about that:

“We simply had eleven great songs, and we thought that this material is too good to be ‘just’ bonus tracks. They are part of the big story, so you can think of them as the director’s cut material that tells a little extra. For those who want to have more.”

Anno 1696” track listing:

01 – “1696
02 – “White Christ” (feat. Sakis Tolis of Rotting Christ)
03 – “Godforsaken” (feat. Johanna Kurkela)
04 – “Lilian
05 – “Starless Paths
06 – “The Witch Hunter
07 – “The Unrest
08 – “The Rapids

Ltd. Deluxe 2CD Artbook tracks, incl. “Songs Of The Dusk” (EP):

01 – “Flowers Of The Night
02 – “Stained In Red
03 – “Song Of The Dusk

Pre-orders for the record can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch