Serj TankianTravis Shinn

System Of A Down’s Serj Tankian Announces New EP “Perplex Cities”, Shares First Single Via AR


Musician/activist Serj Tankian has announced an October 21st release date for his new EP “Perplex Cities“. The System Of A Down frontman will be issuing that endeavor via his own Serjical Strike label. The first song to see a release from that 5-song effort is “Pop Imperialism“, which you can preview now via a new augmented reality experience.

Each track from the outing will emerge in a similar AR format, which you can check out here.

- Advertisement -

Speaking of the EP, Tankian shared:

“This whole collection of songs within ‘Perplex Cities‘ is a completely different sound than what I’ve done before. More electronic, subtle and deeper in terms of its layers of presentation musically. ‘Perplex Cities‘ gives off an aura that is unique and unlike my previous releases.”

As for launching the material via augmented reality, he offered:

“I’m always trying to create new and interesting ways to connect with people via my music. We made some amazing videos for the last EP ‘Elasticity‘, so I wanted to try something different for ‘Perplex Cities‘. I love the idea of appearing in the room with someone listening to my music. It’s intimate, fun, and different.”

Perplex Cities‘ track listing:

01 – “Pop Imperialism
02 – “The Race
03 – “I Spoke Up
04 – “Rumi Loves His Cars
05 – “Forgive Me Father

Pre-saves are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch