Contracult To Release “The New Torment” In November, Debut “The Glutton” Video


Contracult (also known as Contracult Collective) will have their new album “The New Torment” out on November 04th. That record will emerge via the band’s own Hogwasche Music after briefly previously being signed with Roadrunner Records.

Founder/vocalist Svart commented:

- Advertisement -

“While I was proud of the music we created before, I felt as though the songs we were writing always came from this lens of these outdated writing formulas which we had to ‘learn’ rather than them just be something that came out of us. With ‘The New Torment‘ I feel we were able to hone in on the sound more organically and not follow some rule book that doesn’t even exist. With this record we wanted more of a ‘Downward Spiral‘ thing going on. Every song has its own unique vibe and texture while still sounding like it’s all from the same band.”

He later added:

“The record was written and produced during probably the most precarious time for me. I was diagnosed as bipolar during the creation of it. It’s a piece of work I am forever proud of, but it almost killed me.”

The album finds the band welcoming Bx (Bec Hollcraft) as their newest member. Speaking of that and his own personal inspiration for the record, guitarist Cultprit offered:

“From the heavy bands that are lifelong influences to me, from Napalm Death to Fear Factory, to modern rap like City Morgue. The crossover styles of artists like Ghostemane were definitely inspiring to get juiced up and have the urgency to write. Having Bx in the band opened the doors quite a bit too and helped expand our writing.”

Below you can find a music video for the song “The Glutton” from the trio.

The New Torment” track listing:

01 – “Welcome To…
02 – “The New Torment
03 – “Drown
04 – “The Glutton
05 – “Infirmary
06 – “Geography Of Loss
07 – “Meek
08 – “M.S.K.
09 – “The Viral Generation
10 – “Trauma Garden

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch