CandlemassLinda Akerberg

Candlemass Premiere “Scandinavian Gods” From New Album “Sweet Evil Sun”


Swedish doom veterans Candlemass will have a new album by the name of “Sweet Evil Sun” out on November 18th through Napalm Records. The group recorded that 13th full-length outing alongside producer Marcus Jidell at Nox Studio in Stockholm, Sweden and have just launched the song “Scandinavian Gods” as the first single.

Bassist Leif Edling spoke of that first taste of the record, offering:

- Advertisement -

“‘Scandinavian Gods‘ is Slayer meets Queen and Judas Priest! It’s about heritage and future and the fact that It is sometimes absolutely necessary to leave or at least doubt your old gods. It’s about the hardship in this, and the irony in the fact that you see yourself being drawn back to them over and over again, into these black circles and the forgetfulness of the past. Where do we wanna be? What shall we believe in? Do we need them to build a better future?”

Edling also commented on the album itself, offering:

“‘Sweet Evil Sun‘ is about hope, striving, adoration and failure. It’s about all the personal battles that you have, but also the never-ending decay of humanity. The record took over a year to make and there’s not a bad track on it! We had a fantastic time recording it and are really looking forward to the release. It’s Doom, It’s Metal! It is the essence of Candlemass put into one album!”

Sweet Evil Sun” track listing:

01 – “Wizard Of The Vortex
02 – “Sweet Evil Sun
03 – “Angel Battle
04 – “Black Butterfly
05 – “When Death Sighs” (feat. Jennie-Ann Smith of Avatarium)
06 – “Scandinavian Gods
07 – “Devil Voodoo
08 – “Crucified
09 – “Goddess
10 – “A Cup Of Coffin (Outro)

Pre-orders are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch