Parkway Drive

Parkway Drive To Release New Album “Darker Still” In September, Debut “The Greatest Fear” Music Video


Australian metalcore heavyweights Parkway Drive have confirmed a September 09th release date through Epitaph Records for their seventh studio album “Darker Still“. A music video directed by James Chappell for their newly launched single “The Greatest Fear” has just premiered online to herald the new opus.

Frontman Winston McCall had the following to offer of the latter:

“The greatest fear, the one we all share; this song is about the unifying force we all must face —death. The goal was to create a song that saw death not as something that separates, but something that connects us all on our paths. Musically, we wanted to create a song that did this concept justice. It’s heavy, it’s epic and when it stomps it leaves an impact.”

Speaking of the album, McCall revealed that it explores the concept of “the dark night of the soul.” He elaborated on that, stating that it is “the idea of reaching a point in your life where you are faced with a reckoning of your structure of beliefs, your sense of self and your place in the world, to a point where it’s irreconcilable with the way that you are as a person.”

He continued:

“When Parkway originally started out, we all were trying to push ourselves to do more than we possibly could. What you hear on ‘Darker Still‘ is the final fulfillment of our ability to learn and grow catching up with the imagination that we have always had.”

“There are compositions and songs that we’d never attempted before — or, to be more accurate, which we have attempted in the past, but not had the courage, time or understanding to pull off.”

Guitarist Jeff Ling added:

“I’m really proud of what we have achieved together, and feel that as musicians, we have really ascended to new realms of class and ability.”

Darker Still” track listing:

01 – “Ground Zero
02 – “Like Napalm
03 – “Glitch
04 – “The Greatest Fear
05 – “Darker Still
06 – “Imperial Heretic
07 – “If A God Can Bleed
08 – “Soul Bleach
09 – “Stranger
10 – “Land Of The Lost
11 – “From The Heart Of The Darkness

Pre-orders for the album are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch