Dr. Acula

Dr. Acula To Release New Album In October, Debut “The Abominable Snowman Of Pasadena”


Reunited deathcore unit Dr. Acula have announced an October 28th release date for their new self-titled album via Silent Pendulum Records. The song “The Abominable Snowman Of Pasadena” has emerged as the first single from the release and is available to stream below.

Vocalist Rob Accadri said of this first offering from the album, “We’ve written a lot of songs about how partying and doing drugs is fun. With this album we really wanted to explore the darker side, both lyrically and musically.” Guitarist Lou Figurito added, “It’s a new perspective that comes with experience. “Going from youthful recklessness and invincibility to the realization that the down sides will eventually get the upper hand. ‘Snowman‘ is a first-person perspective of one of those nights, turned early mornings, where that realization starts to settle in.”

- Advertisement -

Recording sessions for the album were overseen by the group while Anthony Lopardo took on the engineering duties. Moon Tooth drummer Ray Marte handled the mixing and mastering duties. Speaking of the album itself, bassist Rob Guarino said:

“To put it frankly, this chapter of Dr. Acula is a ‘party’s over’ vibe. When we started over 15 years ago, it was all fun and games. We weren’t really paying attention. Now we’ve grown, our fans have grown, and there’s a conversation to be had. Life isn’t great for most people these days and we wanted to write something that could touch on that. Those are the songs that move us personally and we wanted to challenge ourselves to make that for someone else.

The album’s overarching theme is that of being stuck on a loop. A loop where shit keeps going wrong. Even if you see it coming, you may not be able to fix it because it’s out of your hands. The horror theme of the song titles ties into how terrifying life can be.”

Dr. Acula” track listing:

01 – “Epilogue
02 – “Apotheosis
03 – “The Abominable Snowman Of Pasadena
04 – “How To Kill A Monster
05 – “Welcome To Dead House
06 – “Egg Monsters From Mars
07 – “Don’t Go To Sleep
08 – “Stay Out Of The Basement
09 – “The Scarecrow Walks At Midnight
10 – “The Werewolf Of Fever Swamp
11 – “The Barking Ghost” (feat. Kyle Medina of Bodysnatcher)

Pre-orders for the album can be found here. You can catch the band out this month at the following shows:

07/02 Amityville, NY – Amityville Music Hall (feat. SeeYouSpaceCowboy)

With Curses &’redead:

07/15 Philadelphia, PA – The Fire
07/16 Frederick, MD – 611 Cafe
07/17 Pittsburgh, PA – Preserving Underground
07/29 Rochester, NY – Montage Music Hall
07/30 Manchester, NH – Jewel Music Venue
07/31 Providence, RI – Alchemy

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch