Ronnie James Dio

Dio’s “Holy Diver” To Receive Super Deluxe Edition, Hear Joe Barresi’s New Mix Of The Title Track


Having just recently been certified double-platinum in the United States, Dio‘s 1983 debut album “Holy Diver” is now set to receive a super deluxe edition. In addition to unreleased outtakes, live recordings and rarities, this expanded version of the heavy metal classic will feature a new mix done by Joe Barresi (Tool, Queens Of The Stone Age), as well as a separate new 2022 remaster.

That updated mix was created from the original analog tapes and can be sampled via a newly released digital single for the album’s revered title track, which you can stream below. The entire set will land online on July 08th, two days ahead of what would have been Ronnie James Dio‘s 80th birthday.

In addition to the super deluxe edition, Barresi‘s updated mix of the album will be given a separate 2-LP release on clear vinyl. According to an official press release, the super deluxe edition will feature illustrated liner notes penned by Mick Wall. On top of that, fans can expect to find the following:

HOLY DIVER: SUPER DELUXE EDITION goes beyond the original album with a previously unreleased recording of the quartet performing live in 1983 at Selland Arena in Fresno, California during the Holy Diver Tour. Wyn Davis mixed the concert recording, which spotlights live versions of songs from Holy Diver (‘Stand Up And Shout‘ and ‘Rainbow In The Dark‘), Rainbow classics (‘Man On The Silver Mountain‘ and ‘Starstruck‘), and Sabbath staples, (‘Children Of The Sea‘ and ‘Heaven And Hell.’)

The Super Deluxe Edition also revisits the Holy Diver recording sessions to uncover unreleased outtakes for several album cuts, including unheard takes for ‘Invisible,’ ‘Straight Through The Heart,’ and a version of ‘Rainbow In The Dark‘ that boasts an alternative guitar solo. There’s also an early version of ‘Evil Eyes,’ a song that would resurface on Dio’s 1984 follow-up album, ‘The Last in Line‘. A selection of rarities rounds out the new collection with mono and stereo 7” single edits for ‘Rainbow In The Dark‘ and a version of ‘Evil Eyes‘ that was released in 1983 as the B-side to ‘Holy Diver.”

Holy Diver: Super Deluxe Edition” track listing:

CD 1: “Holy Diver” (2022 Joe Barresi Mix)

CD 2: “Holy Diver” (2022 Remaster)

01 – “Stand Up And Shout
02 – “Holy Diver
03 – “Gypsy
04 – “Caught In The Middle
05 – “Don’t Talk To Strangers
06 – “Straight Through The Heart
07 – “Invisible
08 – “Rainbow In The Dark
09 – “Shame On The Night

CD 3: “Live at Selland Arena, Fresno, CA, 1983“:

01 – “Intro
02 – “Stand Up And Shout
03 – “Straight Through The Heart
04 – “Shame On The Night
05 – “Children Of The Sea
06 – “Holy Diver
07 – “Heaven And Hell” (including guitar solo)
08 – “Rainbow In The Dark
09 – “Man On The Silver Mountain
10 – “Starstuck
11 – “Man On The Silver Mountain” (reprise)
12 – “Don’t Talk To Strangers

CD 4: “Outtakes, Singles & B-Sides“:

01 – “Evil Eyes” (Wyn Davis remix)
02 – “Don’t Talk To Strangers” (Take 1) (Joe Barresi mix)
03 – “Invisible” (Take 1) (Joe Barresi mix)
04 – “Invisible” (Take 3) (Joe Barresi mix)
05 – “Rainbow In The Dark” (Alternative Guitar Solo Version) (Joe Barresi mix)
06 – “Straight Through The Heart” (Take 2) (Joe Barresi mix)
07 – “Straight Through The Heart” (Take 3) (Joe Barresi mix)
08 – “Rainbow In The Dark” (7” Mono Edit)
09 – “Evil Eyes” (1983 Version)
10 – “Rainbow In The Dark” (7” Stereo Edit)

The 2-LP clear vinyl pressing of “Holy Diver” will feature the album’s original track listing along with the 1983 version of “Evil Eyes” as a bonus track. Side 2 of the second LP will feature an etching of the demon Murry. You can pre-order the set here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch