ZombiMatt Dayak

Zombi Release New Covers Album Featuring Members Of The Sword, Zao, Pinkish Black & Trans Am


Amid the pandemic the atmospheric progressive rock duo known as Zombi enlisted Pinkish Black‘s Daron Beck, The Sword‘s Bryan Richie, Zao‘s Jeff Gretz and Trans Am‘s Philip Manley to record a series of covers of classic rock songs.

Some 25 songs in total were laid down and a number of them emerged online over the past year or so. Now Zombi have taken to compiling a selection of those covers for a compilation titled “Zombi & Friends, Vol. 1“. Newly released today (May 12th) digitally, the effort will also be out physically on June 17th through Relapse. You can pre-order it here.

- Advertisement -

Zombi‘s Steve Moore commented:

“Last year we invited some of our close friends to take part in a series of soft and smooth cover songs we loved from our childhood. Over the course of the year we recorded 25 songs, from roughly the mid 70’s through the mid 80’s, and released a new one almost every Friday. It was a chance to stay busy and connected during the pandemic. Admittedly it started as a bit of a joke with our Barbra Streisand cover, which was originally going to be a one-off, but the reaction was so strong we decided to plan out a whole series.”

Zombi & Friends, Vol. 1” track listing:

01 – “Guilty” (Barry Gibb cover)
02 – “Suspicions” (Eddie Rabbitt cover)
03 – “I Can’t Tell You Why” (Eagles cover)
04 – “Sirius“/”Eye In The Sky” (The Alan Parsons Project cover)
05 – “Take You Back” (Frank Stallone cover)
06 – “Takin’ It To the Streets” (Michael McDonald cover)
07 – “Captain of Her Heart” (Double cover)
08 – “Deja Vu” (Dionne Warwick cover)
09 – “You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine” (Lou Rawls cover)
10 – “America” (Neil Diamond cover)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch