BehemothSylwia Makris/Christian Martin Weiss

Behemoth Reveal Details For New Album “Opvs Contra Natvram”, Debut “Ov My Herculean Exile” Music Video


Polish blackened death metal brigade Behemoth have unveiled the details for their twelfth studio album. “Opvs Contra Natvram” has been set as the title to that opus, which Nuclear Blast will have out on September 16th. Signaling the beginning of this new album cycle is the arrival of a music video directed by Zuzanna Plisz for the first single, “Ov My Herculean Exile“.

Behemoth themselves oversaw the production of this new record, while Joe Barresi (Tool, Queens Of The Stone Age) was brought on to mix it. Speaking of the album, the band’s vocalist/guitarist Nergal offered:

“The album title means going against the current. It’s the negative of the values and morals and ethics that I stand against. I’ve seriously been wrestling with destructive tendencies in pop culture — cancel culture, social media, and tools which I feel are very dangerous weapons in the hands of people who are not competent to judge others.

That’s something which I find very destructive and disturbing — and extremely limiting coming from an artists’ perspective. This is my middle finger to that. There’s a song on the record called ‘Neo-Spartacvs.’ Spartacus was one of the most iconic rebels in history who went against the most powerful empire of all time. In the end, it’s me screaming, ‘I Am Spartacus, and so are you!’ I want to spark that flame of rebellion. If something seems wrong then stand up to it!”

Opvs Contra Natvram” track listing:

01 – “Post-God Nirvana
02 – “Malaria Vvlgata
03 – “The Deathless Sun
04 – “Ov My Herculean Exile
05 – “Neo-Spartacvs
06 – “Disinheritance
07 – “Off To War!
08 – “Once Upon A Pale Horse
09 – “Thy Becoming Eternal
10 – “Versvs Christvs

Pre-orders for the album are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch