Soulfly To Release New Album “Totem” In August, Debut First Single “Superstition”


Soulfly, the long-running groove metal outfit fronted by Max Cavalera, have announced “Totem” as the title for their twelfth studio album. Nuclear Blast have scheduled an August 05th release date for it.

Recording sessions for the outing took place at Platinum Underground in Mesa, AZ with Max and Arthur Rizk (Code Orange, Cavalera Conspiracy) sharing the production duties. John Aquilino and Rizk‘s Eternal Champion bandmate John Powers were also involved in the recording process.

- Advertisement -

Interestingly, Rizk‘s role on “Totem” wasn’t just limited to production however, as he also played the lead guitar parts throughout the effort. His upgraded role on the album came about following the band’s bitter split with Marc Rizzo. In addition to Rizk‘s guest performances, cameos from Obituary vocalist John Tardy, Power Trip drummer/vocalist Chris Ulsh and the aforementioned Powers are also featured.

Speaking of the record, Max offered: “‘Totem‘ is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a 2-year journey writing with Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun, and the anger in Metal.”

The opening track “Superstition” has been chosen as the first single and can be found below.

Totem” track listing:

01 – “Superstition
02 – “Scouring The Vile
03 – “Filth Upon Filth
04 – “Rot In Pain
05 – “The Damage Done
06 – “Totem
07 – “Ancestors
08 – “Ecstasy Of Gold
09 – “Soulfly XII
10 – “Spirit Animal

Pre-orders for the album are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch