Fallujah Announce New Album And Lineup, Stream “Radiant Ascension”


Technical death metal outfit Fallujah have announced a September 09th release date for their fifth studio album “Empyrean” via Nuclear Blast. Pre-orders for that album have been made available over at this location. Additionally, a new track titled “Radiant Ascension” from the outing has been launched as the first single and is available below. It finds Tori Letzler guesting.

The studio lineup for that effort included longtime lead guitarist/backing vocalist Scott Carstairs and drummer Andrew Baird. Evan Brewer (ex-The Faceless, etc.) is featured on bass, while the group recruited Kyle Schaefer of Archaeologist as their new vocalist/guitarist.

- Advertisement -

Carstairs commented of this new outing:

“After such an experimental expression [with ‘Undying Light‘], we sat down to write ‘Empyrean‘ completely refreshed and inspired, It was like the musical tension of the last decade had been released, and we were ready to achieve goals the band had originally set out for. ‘Empyrean‘ is truly a return to form because we are doing what comes naturally to us, but with an intensity that we haven’t achieved in the past. We set out to create something that represents the band and its history in its purest form while also pushing our technical abilities further than we have ever gone.

Every Fallujah album has been a reflection of whatever ideas felt the freshest and exciting to us at that particular point in time. We’ve developed our own defined sound over the years, but on this album, our new members helped bring in some new perspectives. We incorporated new elements such as counterpoint and tempo changes but maintained elements integral to the band and even brought back techniques used in older records. At this point, it’s all about elegantly presenting the sound we have cultivated over the last decade.”

He continued:

“From the beginning of this writing process and until the end, we painstakingly made sure every aspect of this record would blow away our listeners. We meticulously scrutinized every riff and note choice. There has never been this much effort put into a Fallujah record as we did with ‘Empyrean,’ and the result is a truly monstrous record that we believe is the band’s best work by a significant margin. We showed you restraint on the last record. Now, let us show you what happens when we leave it all on the table.”

Empyrean” track listing:

01 – “The Bitter Taste Of Clarity
02 – “Radiant Ascension” (feat. Tori Letzler)
03 – “Embrace Oblivion” (feat. Katie Thompson of Chiasma)
04 – “Into The Eventide” (feat. Katie Thompson of Chiasma)
05 – “Eden’s Lament
06 – “Soulbreaker
07 – “Duality Of Intent” (feat. B>David Wu of Cyborg Octopus)
08 – “Mindless Omnipotent Master” (feat. Chaney Crabb of Entheos)
09 – “Celestial Resonance
10 – “Artifacts” (feat. Tori Letzler)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch