Grey Daze

Chester Bennington’s Early Band Grey Daze Drop Revised Version Of “Saturation (Strange Love)”, New Album “The Phoenix” Due In June


Grey Daze are readying a new album by the name of “The Phoenix” for a June 17th release date on Loma Vista Recordings. The group, who were fronted by a pre-Linkin Park Chester Bennington back in the 1990s, reunited with the singer in the months prior to his passing in July of 2017.

A handful of years back now, the group’s surviving members decided to revisit their early material and rework it around Bennington‘s previously recorded vocal tracks. Their efforts resulted in the 2020 album “Amends“, which was made with the approval of Bennington‘s widow and family.

This new 10-song collection finds guest appearances from Jane’s Addiction guitarist Dave Navarro, Filter mastermind Richard Patrick and Bennginton‘s own daughters, Lily and Lila.

The band’s drummer Sean Dowdell spoke of the album:

“‘Amends‘ was more emotional and reflective. We felt sad when we were writing it. Now that we’re a couple of years removed, it’s very clear what we were going through. We were at a different stage of grief. We went through the shock and the sadness. Now, we’re back to gratitude. So, ‘The Phoenix‘ is more of a celebration of our friend, his talent, and the music. It captures Chester’s angst and energy that people fell in love with. It’s much more aggressive. If you love Chester’s scream, you’ll love this record.”

An updated take on the band’s 1997 “No Sun Today” track “Saturation (Strange Love)” has been launched as the first single from this new effort, and is accompanied by a Marc Silverstein directed music video. Dowdell said of this re-recorded version:

“It’s going to surprise a lot of people because it gets back to Chester’s core. One of the things that people love about him was his unique ability to scream in key… and this song brings you back to everything you love about that scream. You feel that angst and raw emotion he brought to everything he did.”

The Phoenix” track listing:

01 – “Saturation (Strange Love)
02 – “Starting To Fly
03 – “Be Your Man
04 – “Holding You” (feat. Dave Navarro)
05 – “Hole” (feat. Lily & Lila Bennington)
06 – “Drag
07 – “Believe Me” (feat. Richard Patrick)
08 – “Anything, Anything
09 – “Spin
10 – “Wake Me

Pre-orders are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch