Metallica's Kirk Hammett

Metallica’s Kirk Hammett Announces Debut Solo EP “Portals”


Metallica guitarist Kirk Hammett will be releasing his debut solo EP “Portals” on April 23rd as part of this year’s ‘Record Store Day‘ festivities. In addition to vinyl and CD formats, the four-song self-proclaimed ‘audio cinematic’ effort will also be made available digitally.

Speaking of why he chose to go solo now, the legendary thrash metal guitarist offered:

- Advertisement -

“Initially, before I even had the idea for a solo EP, I was inspired by the need to create some sort of soundtrack music to accompany The Kirk Hammett Collection for the first ‘It’s Alive‘ exhibition at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Massachusetts, 2017. I wanted to conceive music to play on a loop in the background as people walked through the exhibit. I sat down one night with a progression, and before I knew it, all the parts were there for ‘Maiden and the Monster.’

The initial concept for ‘Portals‘ started with that one song. Following that, I realized I could create different soundtrack moments. These songs are what I call ‘Audio Cinematic;’ I’m creating sounds and pieces of music for the movies playing in my head. Hopefully they’ll create movies in other people’s heads in a similar fashion.

Kirk Hammett

While “Portals” will be released as a solo EP, it was not a singular affair as Hammett enlisted a number of guests to help achieve his vision. Edwin Outwater, who worked with Metallica on “S&M2“, co-wrote “High Plains Drifter” and “The Incantation” and also led the orchestral players from the Los Angeles Philharmonic involved on this effort.

Furthermore, Hammett‘s Wedding Band bandmate, drummer Jon Theodore (also of Queens Of The Stone Age, etc.), prolific session bassist Abraham Laboriel, producer/musician Greg Fidelman (bass), producer/musician Bob Rock and arranger Blake Neely all also contributed to the release.

You can find more on the release and how to get your hands on it in April here.

Portals” track listing:

01 – “Maiden And The Monster
02 – “The Jinn
03 – “High Plains Drifter
04 – “The Incantation

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch