Absent In BodyWilliam Lacalmontie / Simon Kallas /Sven Harambašic

Amenra, Neurosis & Ex-Sepultura Members Unite In Absent In Body, Debut “The Acres/The Ache”


A burgeoning collective dubbed Absent In Body are preparing to release their debut album “Plague God” via Relapse Records on March 25th. You’re likely familiar with at least one of the musicians involved with the project given their respected pedigree.

Originally founded by Amenra guitarist Mathieu J. Vandekerckhove, the project has grown to find him joined by Neurosis vocalist/guitarist Scott Kelly, Cavalera Conspiracy, etc./ex-Sepultura drummer Iggor Cavalera and Amenra vocalist Colin H. Van Eeckhout on vocals/bass.

A first single “The Acres/The Ache” from the aforementioned album has just went up online with an accompanying music video, which you can check out below. Pre-orders for the record have launched at this location.

Vandekerckhove commented:

“We had not imposed any limitations or boundaries on ourselves to create this music. Everything happened without any compromise, we gathered and let inspiration run freely. It is the beauty and the strength of this album.”

Cavalera added:

“It feels great to collaborate with such forward-thinking minds like Colin, Mathieu, and Scott on AIB. The music is dense and slowly brutal, very similar to the times we are living.”

Plague God” track listing:

01 – “Rise From Ruins
02 – “In Spirit In Spite
03 – “Sarin
04 – “The Acres/The Ache
05 – “The Half Rising Man

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch