Tony Iommi

Tony Iommi Releases New “Scent Of The Dark” Fragrance And Song, Contributes To Ozzy Osbourne’s Forthcoming Album


Former Black Sabbath guitarist Tony Iommi has released a new track titled “Scent Of The Dark“. It arrives alongside a fragrance of the same name which Iommi himself was involved in creating alongside Xerjoff and Sergio Momo. Iommi is joined on this track by Momo on guitar, Jimmy Crutchley on bass, Ash Sheehan on drums, Rebecca Rose on cello and Julianne Bourne on the violin.

Speaking with Rolling Stone, Iommi commented of the song’s origins:

- Advertisement -

“I’ve recorded a lot of riffs and tracks [in recent years] with Mike Exeter. And with this one, I couldn’t imagine who would sing on it; it just seemed ideal to put it down as an instrumental. I’ve had the main part for a while, and I just added some new parts to it. Then I added these other gloomier riffs to make it blend in with this perfume idea. I really liked the idea of using some violins and cellos and stuff, and so we did on this track.”

In the same aforementioned interview, Iommi revealed that he contributed to Ozzy Osbourne‘s forthcoming new album, offering:

“As you’ve probably read, I worked with Ozzy for his album. I wrote the whole track and played on it and played the solo on it. It’s horrible, really. … No. I’m joking. No, it’s good. It’s really good. And I like what Ozzy sang on it. I think he did a really good job. And I think they had Chad [Smith] play drums on it. I’ve left it in their hands now.”

Osbourne is expected to release that new album in early 2022. Once again produced by Andrew Watt, it is also expected to feature guest appearances from Zakk Wylde, Metallica‘s Robert Trujillo, Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers fame. Some fifteen songs are said to have been tracked for the effort.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch