Dave Lombardo, Jeff Waters & Stu Block

Annihilator Re-Record “Metal” Album With Dave Lombardo & Stu Block, Share New Version Of “Downright Dominate”


Annihilator have announced the upcoming February 18th release of their guest-filled 2007 album “Metal“. Newly rechristened “Metal II“, this revisited take finds vocalist Stu Block (Into Eternity) and drummer Dave Lombardo (Suicidal Tendencies, ex-Slayer, etc.) performing throughout. A new mix was done by Mike Fraser AC/DC, Van Halen, while Maor Appelbaum mastered it.

Below you can check out the revised version of “Downright Dominate” from the outing, which retains its original cameo appearance from the late Alexi Laiho of Children Of Bodom fame. “Metal II” will sport an alternate track listing that runs as follows:

01 – “Chasing The High” (feat. Willie Adler of Lamb Of God)
02 – “Downright Dominate” (feat. Alexi Laiho)
03 – “Army Of One” (feat. Steve “Lips” Kudlow of Anvil)
04 – “Couple Suicide” (feat. Danko Jones & ex-Arch Enemy vocalist Angela Gossow)
05 – “Heavy Metal Maniac” (feat. Dan Beehler & Allan Johnson of Exciter)
06 – “Haunted” (feat. Jesper Strömblad)
07 – “Romeo Delight” (feat. Alexi Laiho) (Van Halen cover)
08 – “Detonation” (feat. Jacob Lynam of Lynam)
09 – “Clown Parade” (feat. Jeff Loomis of Arch Enemy)
10 – “Smothered” (feat. Anders Björler)
11 – “Kicked” (feat. Corey Beaulieu of Trivium)

The album is the most elaborate entry in a series of reissues of the Annihilator catalog planned for the months and years to come. The band’s vocalist/guitarist Jeff Waters commented:

“One of greatest engineers/mixers on the planet, Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Van Halen), was my first choice to mix this one. It was a challenge as Mike was not brought in to make a record; he was simply there to mix a big mess of tracks that were recorded in 2006 and 2021 and with over 14 players on it. After this difficult mix, I promised Mike that I would do another record with him, from the ground up!

Although Alexi Laiho‘s shredding in ‘Downright Dominate‘ and the Van Halen song ‘Romeo Delight‘ were recorded a while back, adding Stu and Dave to these songs gave us all the feeling that Metal II is also a fitting tribute to our two fallen guitar heroes. Ed and Alexi, R.I.P.”

You can pre-order the effort now at this location.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch