Senses FailJon Weiner

Senses Fail Set July Release For New Album “Hell Is In Your Head”, Debut “I’m Sorry I’m Leaving”


Hell Is In Your Head” has been chosen as the title for Senses Fail‘s eighth studio album. Pure Noise Records have just announced a July 15th release date for that outing, with the band having had Saosin‘s Beau Burchell co-produce it.

Well ahead of that record’s arrival comes today’s (November 04th) premiere of its first single, “I’m Sorry I’m Leaving“. Vocalist Buddy Nielsen discussed realizing his vision for this latest album, offering:

- Advertisement -

“The band has now become me and vice-versa. I’m trying to put myself on the map as a songwriter and as a complete musician, not just as a lyricist or the singer. This is where I had been planning to get to over the last three records. As a touring entity we are still five people, but when it comes down to the writing, it’s a solo vision as far as where I want to take it.”

As for this first single, he added:

“I wrote this song about the constant struggling with making music and art as a living. I am constantly waiting for it to all fail and disappear even 20 years into a career. At no point do I ever feel safe. After having a child, the relationship with this lifestyle became more strained. Having to leave home and lose time with your child while also hoping that what you do continues to support your family and remains fulfilling is complicated. Continuing to improve and remove my own trauma in order to be a better father is the bases and goal of the song.”

Five of the songs took partial inspiration from T.S. Eliot‘s “The Waste Land“. Nielsen elaborated a bit further on that and the album’s concept:

“What’s the answer to the inevitable trap of the fact that you’re going to die? This record attempts to go to the dark place of ‘What is it that we’re so afraid of death?’ We’re afraid of death because of grief. Are we truly afraid of death because of death? Through my own therapy, I’ve learned you don’t even really have a clear understanding of death because it’s unknowable. And since you literally can’t die and come back, I tried to place the record in a much darker fictional place to help talk about those unanswerable questions.”

Two guest performers will also appear on the album: SeeYouSpaceCowboy vocalist Connie Sgarbossa and Ice Nine Kills singer Spencer Charnas.

Hell is In Your Head” track listing:

01 – “Burial Of The Dead
02 – “End Of The World/A Game Of Chess” (feat. Connie Sgarbossa)
03 – “The Fire Sermon
04 – “I Am Error
05 – “Death By Water” (feat. Spencer Charnas)
06 – “What The Thunder Said
07 – “Miles To Go
08 – “Lush Rimbaugh
09 – “Hell Is iIn Your Head
10 – “I’m Sorry I’m Leaving
11 – “Grow Away from Me

Pre-orders are available now through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch