Sumo CycoFrancesca Ludikar

Sumo Cyco Debut “Sun Eater” Music Video From Deluxe Edition Of “Initiation”


A digital deluxe edition of Sumo Cyco‘s latest album “Initiation” has been newly released with several bonus tracks, including “New Jive“, “We Are The Nation” and “Sun Eater“. The latter serves as the new single from the release and is available below. The extra songs were originally written around the “Initiation” sessions.

Vocalist Skye “Sever” Sweetnam commented of this new track:

“When I wrote ‘Sun Eater‘ I was contemplating life’s big existential questions. No matter what problems we’re faced with, we’re all just here for a moment spinning warp speed through space. When one starts thinking of the big picture, it can also make our everyday problems seem more insignificant. I sing about my inner demons very often in my music, when comparing those demons to a massive Sun Eating monster of the universe, it really is no match. So, the song is really about seizing the day, because it really is crazy that we even exist.

For the video, I wanted to try some 2D animation inspired by Monty Python and some of my favorite movie and TV opening title sequences. I wanted to inject lots of our signature colour but simple compositions of each frame keeping it all very stark and contrasted. In the video, I have created an alter dimensional clinic where my demons are waiting for a cure. I also introduce the mad Nurse who only prescribes one type of pill for everything. A gold pill that harnesses the sun.”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch