Converge, Chelsea Wolfe & Stephen BrodskyEmily Birds

Converge, Cave In & Chelsea Wolfe Announce New ‘Bloodmoon’ Album


Back in 2016 Converge united with Cave In/Mutoid Man vocalist/guitarist Stephen Brodsky alongside Chelsea Wolfe and her bandmate Ben Chisholm for a collaborative live set at that year’s ‘Roadburn Festival‘. The initial impetus for that project saw the collective expand the sonic reaches of several of Converge‘s tracks, or as Converge frontman Jacob Bannon now puts it, “we wanted to do something grander than the typical four-piece Converge music.”

That collective live performance has since spawned a side project in its own, Bloodmoon, which finds the aforementioned musicians paired in the studio for a new Converge release titled “Bloodmoon: I“. Epitaph will have that set out on November 19th on CD and digital formats while a vinyl pressing is due to follow on June 24th through Deathwish Inc..

As opposed to the project’s live origins, this new outing will feature a collection of new material, which was recorded both at Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou‘s own God City Studio in Salem, MA and remotely during the pandemic.

Speaking of the project, Brodsky offered, “I feel like everyone just kept the music in mind and wanted to do what’s best for the song.” Chelsea Wolfe stated, “the project stretched my vocals in new ways. It’s so different than what I normally sing over that I was able to open up and be vulnerable with my vocals.” Bannon added, “our dynamics are pushing and pulling in all different directions on this record, and I find that to be creatively rewarding.”

Bloodmoon: I” track listing:

01 – “Blood Moon
02 – “Viscera Of Men
03 – “Coil
04 – “Flower Moon
05 – “Tongues Playing Dead
06 – “Lord Of Liars
07 – “Failure Forever
08 – “Scorpion’s Sting
09 – “Daimon
10 – “Crimson Stone
11 – “Blood Dawn

A video for the eponymous track “Blood Moon” has newly premiered online below. Pre-orders for the record are also now available and can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch